Tips for long marathon training runs

Let me preface this by saying I do not consider myself an expert on long runs. In fact I do not consider myself an expert on anything running related.

But—this being my fourth training cycle for a marathon, I have developed a few good strategies through getting through the dreaded long run. My training plan this time around (I am running Philly again on Nov. 23) has me running 6 runs over a half marathon distance. Although I know I do my best with high-mileage plans, knowing I have a long run almost every week is pretty daunting.

Here’s something I’ve learned: you will never 100 percent want to do the long runs in your training plan. Even if you’re in the most optimistic mood possible for the run, you’re still going to be sitting on the couch before you’re supposed to leave trying to make up excuses for why missing it would be OK.

However it’s what you gotta do, so here are some things I have done to make it easier for myself:

1. Switch up your course
For my previous two marathons since moving to NYC, I have stuck to pretty much the same running route all the time. I live right along the Westside Highway, and there is an adjacent running trail that’s stretches the length of the island. For most of my previous long runs, I have just run up half the distance I need to go and then back to my house. This is pretty boring (not to mention, not that challenging).

However, this time around I have been inspired to switch it up. After running the Queens Half at Flushing Meadows (which was a sucky race for me that I will recap eventually) I realized it would be really nice to run in nature as opposed to tourist dodging in the middle of the city.  So for my next long run, I headed back out there and really enjoyed it.

Since then I have been doing my long runs in other running areas that I usually don’t have time to try during a quick week day workout. For my 18-mile run yesterday, I headed out to Prospect Park and loved it.

A map of the trail at Prospect park

Switching up my long run route has been beneficial in a few different ways. I’ve found that when I am trying something new I can hype it up to myself and it seems more fun. I get to experience new parts of the city and map out new routes to try.

Additionally, doing this gets me out of my rut of running only a mostly flat course which should (hopefully) pay off.

2. Break it up into easier bits
When running long, I try my hardest to keep the total length of the run out of my head (especially through miles 1-5). When you’re only on mile 2 of a 20 mile run the task ahead can seem impossible. I find it easier to only think of the long runs in smaller portions, and usually divide them in my head into sections where I get a treat (what normal adults would call fuel) at the end. So, if I’m on mile 1, I think to myself that I am going until I reach mile 5, and then I will get a gel or whatever I’m working with. I usually also convince myself that this treat is going to be the best thing ever and also that I will feel like a million bucks after having it.

This really helps me focus on the run in a way that seems manageable, and helps the whole experience go by faster.

3. Realize what part you hate the most and embrace it
I usually struggle the most mentally with the first five miles of a long run. I usually take a mile or so to get into a groove most days I run, and when I am doing the long run this is a challenge. I start to mentally freak out and tell myself if I feel like THIS now, I am in for a miserable ride.

However, I have realized that this is something I do every time, and doesn’t spell my imminent doom. So I try my hardest to recognize that, tell myself that, and encourage myself that this feeling is temporary (if you can’t tell a large part of my strategy is cheering myself along like I’m talking to a 5-year-old).

4. Switch up your outfit
I’m not advocating for going out and buying something every time because who could afford that? But it’s always fun (sort of? I guess) to try out different outfit combos for each long run. Again it’s another way to mental pep talk and make the run seem more adventurous. The added benefit is you can try out a bunch of outfits before the race.

5. Bribe yourself
The most important of all! Bribe yourself with something you don’t usually treat yourself with and think about it the whole time. My bribe usually involves ordering in or eating out at one of my favorite expensive places and lots of wine (though I usually treat myself with wine).

Happy running!

2 thoughts on “Tips for long marathon training runs

Leave a comment