Things I see running in LA

LA is a weird place, but despite the smog and urban sprawl, has some nice areas for running. I have enjoyed my long runs here on the west side, mostly because there are nice beach paths.

I have searched online for a good website that offers running routes and though I’ve found some I like, I have mostly just made my own (if anyone knows of a great site where you can search by mileage please let me know!)

I thought I’d put a general map on here of the route I’ve done so if you guys need any ideas in the Brentwood/ Santa Monica area you can try it out.

Untitled

You start at the Brentwood Country Club on the Montana side, take Montana down to Ocean, turn left, take the California incline all the way to the beach and then run onto the bike/jog path and head north. The path goes down adjacent to PCH for a few miles and stops at a parking lot. Then you turn around and come back.

This route is about 12 miles from the point you would start on this map, but by the time I get back to my house it is 13ish. I add on by heading down south on Ocean after coming back up the California incline for as many more miles as I need.

Running in LA is also interesting because of the weird things you see, besides the average rich people at brunch and many tiny dogs constantly underfoot. Here are some things I saw today (I don’t have any photos because I didn’t bring my phone so you may have to use you imagination).

1. Red-haired chick from CSI

This was exciting because I never see celebs even though it seems like everyone else I know does all the time. I def did a double take but then awkwardly tried to act like I DGAF’ed. Which everyone in LA does-even the transplants. Sorry, seeing celebs is fun, why should we hide our true feelings? She did not look too friendly.

2. Cop instagramming

Yes, I saw a member of the LAPD pull over and take a picture of the sunset. Because you know, there’s no crime in this city. Search for @smfuncop on the gram and maybe you will find it. I gave him a judging look.

3. Sunset

One great aspect of this route is it is along the beach and it’s always pretty.

IMG_0776

I took this photo a few weeks ago. It looked similar today but eventually it turned to almost all dark sky with this crazy red part where the sun was. Don’t worry, there were plenty of amateur photogs out there documenting, maybe if you search #santamonica #sunset on Instagram you will find.

4. Tourists laying out in bikinis in 50 degree weather

I am not saying this to judge them. I wish I was staying at a beachfront resort right now and I wish I was warm blooded enough to play beach volleyball when it’s under 80 degrees.

If I see any more I’ll let you guys know…

3 thoughts on “Things I see running in LA

  1. Well, just so you know that unfriendly redhead’s character was a stripper on the show…AMIRIGHT OR AMIRIGHT? I hope I’m right.

Leave a comment